Fresh Basil Mozzarella Pasta

The first time I tasted a version of this recipe, it was at a Thanksgiving dinner held by a friend in London, and it absolutely stole the show. It was originally prepared by a dear friend of mine who later became my housemate and then broke my heart by leaving the country to pursue a sweet career opportunity. She is an Actual Italian Person who was born and raised in Milano, Italy, and she is an amazing cook! When I first asked my friend to tell me how to prepare this meal, she casually listed off ingredients, gave a vague description of amounts, and then shrugged and said ‘just mix it until it tastes good’. I have attempted to record my version of her recipe below, but I can guarantee that whatever I have made is but a shadow of her original dish. Perhaps you will creep closer to sweet, fresh basil mozzarella perfection!

This pasta should be enjoyed cold or at room temperature, and is a wonderful pack lunch option. Serves 4.

Ingredients

  • 1 handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped into shreds.
  • 2-3 vine tomatoes, washed and chopped.
  • 8 cloves of garlic, crushed.
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 container of small mozzarella balls.
  • A bag or box of pasta of your choosing. I would recommend Farfalle, Rigatoni, or Penne. If you lack any of these, like I did when I was last making this recipe, you can use any left over shorter pastas you have from other meals.
  • Salt and pepper, to taste.

Instructions

  1. Crush your garlic and chop your tomatoes and basil leaves.
  2. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Lightly salt the water, and then add in your pasta. Cook according to package instructions, and then drain.
  3. In a large bowl, combine pasta, olive oil, garlic, basil, and tomatoes. Stir, and then lightly salt and pepper your pasta, and stir again. Taste your creation, adding extra salt and pepper as needed.
  4. Check the temperature of your pasta. If it has not yet reached room temperature, you may want to consider placing it into the refrigerator for a few minutes so it can cool.
  5. Once the pasta has reached room temperature, you can add in your mozzarella. Stir to combine, ensuring that there is an even mix of basil, tomato, garlic, and mozzarella throughout your pasta.
  6. Serve, eat, and enjoy! This recipe can also be prepared the night before, leaving the addition of the mozzarella balls till the morning.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started